Michael Clarke has forgone the chance to become Australia’s highest Test scorer declaring at 4/659.

The skipper was closing in on Matthew Hayden’s 380 but declared on 329 not out.

The declaration, shortly after Michael Hussey passed 150, leaves him forth on the list of Australia’s top scorers behind Hayden and Don Bradman and Mark Taylor on 334.

It is the 12th highest score in Test history and leaves Australia with a 468 run lead against India.

Clarke went past 300 after lunch, whipping Ishant Sharma off his pads to the boundary.

The 30-year-old also set a record for the most runs scored by an Australian captain in a home Test.

Clarke surpassed Don Bradman’s previous record of 270 and now also holds the record for the highest Test score at the SCG, overtaking Brian Lara’s 277, and Reg Foster’s 287 for England in 1903.

It is also the most runs in a Test match between India and Australia, beating VVS Laxman’s 281 in India.

Earlier, veteran batsman Michael Hussey became the third Australian to score a century in the match when he notched is 16th Test ton and third at the SCG.


Top Australian Test scores:

1. 380- Matthew Hayden , Australia v Zimbabwe, Perth 2003-04.

2. 334*- Mark Taylor, Pakistan v Australia, Peshawar 1998.

3. 334-Don Bradman, England v Australia, Headingley 1930.

4. 317*-Michael Clarke, Australia v India, Sydney Cricket Ground 2012.

5. 311-Bob Simpson, England v Australia, Old Trafford 1964.

6. 307-Bob Cowper, Australia v England, Melbourne, 1965-66.

7. 304-Don Bradman, Australia v England, Headingley, 1934.

8. 299*-Don Bradman, Australia v South Africa, Adelaide, 1931-32.

9. 270-Don Bradman, Australia v England, Melbourne, 1936-37.

10. 268-Graham Yallop, Australia v Pakistan, Melbourne, 1983-84.

Top Test scores.

1. 400*-Brian Lara (West Indies) v England, St John’s, 2004.

2. 380 Matthew Hayden (Australia) v Zimbabwe, Perth, 2003.

3. 375 Brian Lara (West Indies) v England, St John’s, 1994.

4. 365*Garfield Sobers (West Indies) v Pakistan, Kingston, 1958.

5. 364 Len Hutton (England) v Australia, The Oval, 1938.

6. 340 Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) v India, Colombo, 1997.

7. 337 Hanif Mohammad (Pakistan) v West Indies, Bridgetown, 1958.

8. 336* Wally Hammond (England) v New Zealand, Auckland, 1933.

9. 334* Mark Taylor (Australia) v Pakistan, Peshawar, 1998.

10. 334 Don Bradman (Australia) v England, Leeds, 1930.

More to come.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲培训学校.